Ok, my title is a bit of an overstatement.  But our most recent book club book, Unbearable Lightness of Being wasn’t truly awful.  I just didn’t like it that much.  It was contemporary art that I guess I just didn’t “get.”  I feel like I have already hashed out my feelings about this book in the group discussion, so I will forgo doing that again here.

I will comment on this–I hated the book more before I went to book club.  Our group has been meeting for more than a year now, and we are to the point where we are experiencing some transitions among members.  I’m sad to see some folks leave, but have been excited to welcome new participants.  I think that we are making it through the transitions nicely–I don’t see the whole thing falling apart because some of the faces have changed.

But back to the discussion about the book.  The people in the club always provide a new perspective on books.  I learn from them and appreciate their ability to plead their arguments.  I was convinced this was an awful book, but I was so glad to hear that it meant different things to different people.  I guess that goes back to my comment about art.  It is what it is only because it interacts with the person who sees/reads/hears it.  Worth remembering next time you are listening to someone else’s opinion.