Tags

,

davidngoliathI think I may have had too much wine the night I ordered Malcolm Gladwell’s newest book “David and Goliath.” I’ve tired of his schtick and I knew that. But I ordered it anyway.

And it’s a few hours I won’t get back.

Look, Gladwell is a great writer. He can tell a story concisely and in a way you will upload easily and then hopefully remember at an opportune moment in a business meeting when you need to sound somewhat intelligent. But he phoned this one in. Other reviews have suggested that this book felt disconnected and I agree completely.

The Tipping Point was a groundbreaking book, and I still reference the principle from time to time, at least in my thinking. “The Outliers” was pretty good too. I thought “Blink” was ridiculous, if only because it was quickly parodied by a book called “Think,” which quickly undermined the entire argument of “Blink.”

This book is just a collection of stories, ostensibly about how the little guy defeats the big guy and about our perceptions of who is really the underdog. Yet it sure hasn’t stuck with me. A couple of weeks later, and I’m struggling to think much about what I read. Some of the stories feel like they were surfaced at a Brooklyn cocktail party and others feel like they may have been used before.

Look, I don’t fault Gladwell. He’s got a brand and he is delivering on that original brand promise. Short business-y books that make you think. Airplane reading. I think now he could use a brand refresh. Try something new. Give us a longer read about a single topic or be insightful in a way that breaks the mold again. I think he’s got it in him, but this book isn’t it.  Show us that you aren’t a one-trick pony. Quit charging a bazillion dollars for a speech, and do something awesome.

For the readers out there, skip this one.

Thanks for reading.